Defiance Rising

REVIEW OF DEFIANCE RISING   Defiance Rising is Book 1 in the Rising Trilogy by Amy Miles. Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent will love this series with its dystopian city, good and evil humanoid aliens, disadvantaged human guerilla fighters who are mysteriously acquiring odd powers, and a spellbinding love triangle. As in the…

Going Nuts Going Green

[reprint of the writer’s blog post of September 1, 2015] “Going Green” may be trendy in the secular world, but good stewardship of the world and its resources has been a major tenet of the Judeo-Christian faith since the first man was created in the Garden of Eden. I confess that my family has been…

Should We Think “Should”?

[reprinted of the writer’s blog post of August 18, 2015] Most adults take pride in being rational, informed, strong-minded people who accept the world as it is and cope with it accordingly.   We are wrong.   Our inner dialogue betrays us with a single word: “should.” It expresses indignance and proves that we expect the…

To Curse, or Not to Curse?

I invite your comments on the following recent exchange of correspondence. How would you answer the novelist’s question? This was the question:   Dear Iris, For the first time, recently, I used the F-word in the first draft of my new novel.   I must admit, I was in two minds about using four-letter curse…